Keynote Speakers

Prof. Sunita Sarawagi

Institute Chair Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay.


Sunita Sarawagi researches in the fields of databases and machine learning. She is institute chair professor at IIT Bombay. She got her PhD in databases from the University of California at Berkeley and a bachelors degree from IIT Kharagpur. She has also worked at Google Research (2014-2016), CMU (2004), and IBM Almaden Research Center (1996-1999). She was awarded the Infosys Prize in 2019 for Engineering and Computer Science, and the distinguished Alumnus award from IIT Kharagpur. She has several publications including best paper awards at ACM SIGMOD, VLDB, ICDM, NIPS, and ICML conferences. She has served on the board of directors of the ACM SIGKDD and VLDB foundation. She was program chair for the ACM SIGKDD 2008 conference, research track co-chair for the VLDB 2011 conference and has served as program committee member for SIGMOD, VLDB, SIGKDD, ICDE, and ICML conferences, and on the editorial boards of the ACM TODS and ACM TKDD journals.

Prof. Guoliang Li

Tsinghua University, Beijing, China.


Guoliang Li is a full professor and the deputy head of Department of Computer Science, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. His research interests include large-scale data integration and cleaning, human-in-the-loop data management, machine learning for database, and database for machine learning. He is a general co-chair of SIGMOD 2021, demo co-chair of VLDB 2021, industry co-chair of ICDE 2022, and PC co-chair of DASFAA 2019. He is also an associate editor of VLDB journal and IEEE TKDE. He is a steering committee member of IEEE TCDE and DASFAA. He received best paper awards (candidates) of VLDB 2020, ICDE 2018, KDD 2018, CIKM 2017 and DASFAA 2014. He received Early Research Contribution Award of VLDB and Early Career Award of IEEE TCDE.

Prof. Gautam Das

Director of Center for Artificial Intelligence and Big Data (CARIDA) and Database Exploration Laboratory (DBXLAB),
University of Texas at Arlington


Dr. Das is the Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering, a Distinguished University Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Director of the Center for Artificial Intelligence and Big Data (CARIDA), and Director of the Database Exploration Laboratory (DBXLAB) at UT-Arlington. Prior to joining UTA in 2004, he has held positions at Microsoft Research, Compaq Corporation and the University of Memphis. He graduated with a B.Tech in computer science from IIT Kanpur, India in 1983, and with a Ph.D in computer science from the University of Wisconsin, Madison in 1990. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the ACM.

Dr. Das has published over 200 papers, many of which have appeared in premier data mining, database and algorithms conferences and journals. His work has received several awards, including the Communications of the ACM Research Highlights in 2021, ACM SIGMOD Research Highlights in 2019, IEEE ICDE 10-Year Influential Paper Award in 2012, ACM SIGKDD Doctoral Dissertation Award (honorable mention) in 2014 for his former student, and numerous other awards. He has presented keynotes and invited lectures, tutorials and courses at various universities, research labs, and conferences. He has been on the Editorial Board of the journals ACM Transactions on Database Systems and IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering. He has served in the organization roles of several major conferences, including as General Chair of ACM SIGMOD/PODS 2018.

Ioana Manolescu

Inria and Institut Polytechnique de Paris.


Ioana Manolescu is a senior researcher at Inria Saclay and a part-time professor at Ecole Polytechnique, France. She is the lead of the CEDAR INRIA team focusing on rich data analytics at cloud scale. She is also the scientific director of LabIA, a program ran by the French government whereas AI problems raised by branches of the local and national French public administration are tackled by French research teams. She is a member of the PVLDB Endowment Board of Trustees, and has been Associate Editor for PVLDB, president of the ACM SIGMOD PhD Award Committee, chair of the IEEE ICDE conference, and a program chair of EDBT, SSDBM, ICWE among others. She has co-authored more than 150 articles in international journals and conferences and co-authored books on "Web Data Management" and on "Cloud-based RDF Data Management". Her main research interests algebraic and storage optimizations for semistructured data, in particular Semantic Web graphs, novel data models and languages for complex data management, data models and algorithms for fact-checking and data journalism, a topic where she is collaborating with journalists from Le Monde. She is also a recipient of the ANR AI Chair titled "SourcesSay: Intelligent Analysis and Interconnexion of Heterogeneous Data in Digital Arenas" (2020-2024).

Tirthankar Lahiri

Senior Vice President,
Data and In-Memory Technologies,
Oracle Corporation


Tirthankar Lahiri is Senior Vice President of the Data and In-Memory Technologies area within Oracle Database. This includes the Oracle Database Engine (Transactions, Data formats, Indexes, Advanced Compression, Database In-Memory, the Database Filesystem, etc.), the Oracle TimesTen In-Memory Database, and Oracle NoSQLDB. Tirthankar has 26 years of experience in the database industry and has worked on a number of areas such as Performance, Scalability, Manageability and In-Memory architectures. He has 45 issued and several pending patents and a number of academic publications. He has a B.Tech in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology (Kharagpur) and an MS in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University. He was in the PhD program at Stanford and his research included NUMA Operating Systems (the Hive project) and Semistrucured Data (the Ozone project) before his PhD was superceded by his industrial career.